top of page

Summer's First Harvest!

February through April are stressful months for college students everywhere. Not only are we juggling regular assignments, midterms, and finals, but we're searching for summer occupations on top of this. Ideally, you end up with something to do that is at least somewhat enjoyable, doesn't have hours that make you cry, and pays. You usually get two of the three.

I've been interested in agriculture since I read Michael Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma: The Secrets Behind What You Eat. I was about ten years old at the time and disgusted by what I saw once light was shed on industrialized farming practices. I am now twenty years old and I remain firmly disgusted. If you'd like to enjoy a permanent paradigm shift (and you have a reading level a bit higher than that of a ten year old's), you should absolutely read Pollan's The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. Not only is the nonfiction content important, but the writing is superb.

I think because of this interest, my family wasn't surprised that I ended up with a summer internship on Ekar Farm, an urban organic farm in Denver, CO. Ekar owns approximately two acres of land. One-and-a-half acres are used by Ekar to grows various fruits and vegetables, including tomatoes, garlic, grapes, and sugar snap peas. The other half acres is a community garden. The entire property is beautiful, even surrounded by Denver's urban environment. Ekar's a busy place, with many beds of crops that need constant maintenance. My first two days were spent learning that I really don't like weed-whacking and that I needed to develop a better weeding position and tactic. I woke up incredibly sore. My clothes were permanently stained and I was covered in prickly heat and bug bites. I couldn't wait to go back for more.

My assignments changed dramatically on Thursday, the first harvest of the summer. Ekar's goal is to harvest anywhere between 8,000 and 12,000 pounds of food each summer, 80% of which is donated to various food pantries and homeless shelters throughout Denver. Our first donation was sixteen large crates (~24" L x 16" W x 10" H) full of kale. And we'd only harvested 2/3 of kale, which regenerates itself within days of being picked. I hauled the heavy crates from field to shed in my aching arms, beaming. I was rewarded with a crate of my own overflowing with the largest head of romaine lettuce I've ever come across, several varieties of kale, and two types of kohlrabi. Much of the kale was used almost immediately in making salad and chips, but I'm still not sure what to do with the kohlrabi. (Any suggestions made in the comments would be more than welcome!)

Ekar is an excellent internship for me. While it pays in food rather than funds, I have never been so happy working anywhere. My co-farmers are happy, welcoming, funny people. I love that we start early to try to beat the heat, so I'm done by noon each day. I love being outside, even when the sun beats my body down and I drink a gallon of water before quittin' time. The physical labor is taxing and draining, but I finish each day knowing that I've done something truly impactful. I can feel it in my muscles that whimper whenever I stretch. It's a long drive, but as I crest the hill near Davidson Mesa on my way home and the Rockies roll out in front of me like a red carpet, I know I wouldn't have it any other way.

Until next time!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page