top of page

'Scuze Me, While I Tip This Guy

My most recently begun adventure is that of a barista. This is my first job in the service industry and boy, am I learning a lot and quickly. I've learned fun facts like "bold" just means the darkest drip coffee you've got, people will look at you like you just shot their dog if you say their request will take a few extra minutes because it's a pour-over, and work that requires you to be on your feet requires you to buy shoes a half-size up and with extra cushioning in the sole.

The lesson most important and impactful in my day-to-day life is one I'm glad to learn at a young age. That lesson, friends, is the importance of tipping. I know tipping is a cultural controversy, but I'm going to take a stand here. Before this, I typically left at least 15% when at a restaurant where I was waited on. If somewhere with counter service, I didn't often tip and never tipped more than my change. I excused myself as a poor college student. I figured it couldn't be all that challenging to scoop ice cream, make a hot beverage, or assemble a sandwich. Besides, since counter workers don't count as waitstaff, they should be earning at least minimum wage, right?

Right, in my case. I don't know about what others are paid though, and it shouldn't really matter. That person behind the counter at 10 A.M. may have already been there for five hours, on their feet, without a break because of the steady stream of customers, smiling all the while. Or they may just be having a rough day since they've worked the past ten days with no days off. Or they might still be training when your order comes in during the five minutes their coworker has disappeared. The point is, you don't know what is going on in the life of the person behind the counter. Their day could be difficult for any number of professional or personal reasons. They could be making well above or well below minimum wage. Either way, your change received from your purchase or dug out from the bottom of your purse could change their day.

Fifteen or seventy-two or five cents dropped in a jar might not mean much to you. But to the person behind the counter, it says, "Thank you." It acknowledges that their presence and effort and swollen feet are appreciated. It helps them get through the rush you've come in the middle of, keeps them through the next twenty minutes until they can finally take lunch.

A full dollar means even more. A full dollar can lead to a genuine smile, a sense of relief and accomplishment. Full dollar tips come almost exclusively from regulars, which makes sense, but they are the most satisfying part of any day.

 

Working behind the counter as a barista has taught me that every single

employee in the service industry has far more responsibilities than what meets the eye. Every day is busy and strenuous. Some are fun, too, but you come home tired. You've cleaned up spilled Camelbacks and half-and-half; restocked cups, lids, and sugars; helped customers find the drink with the most caffeine and carefully poured flat whites. You've smiled until your cheeks ached, burned your hand, and washed a million dishes. And if that's the life of a barista, I'm not sure I can begin to imagine the life of a waiter.

I, for one, have become a generous tipper. I tip well so that sandwich-maker will have more money to pay his bills and still tip others. I tip well so that people know their work is appreciated and not underestimated. I tip well so that people can buy themselves the gel inserts, peppermint foot lotion, and Epsom salts they so desperately need if they're going to be on their feet all day long.

I've started with the man in the mirror and I've opened my eyes to another way of treating others the way I want to be treated. I invite you to do the same.

Until next time!

 

P.S. - In general, any article about secrets your barista won't tell you (like this one) is silly and not actually very helpful. The biggest pro tip you need for ordering coffee anywhere is to place your order by first saying whether you want a hot or cold drink, then the size, then the drink itself. You're going to make everyone's lives a lot easier.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page